Day Fourteen

Just finished watching New Muslim Cool with the family. Awesome.

Today was the first day of weight training class. We got warmed up with 30 minutes of cardio (3 minutes on the versaclimber, 5 minutes on the stairstepper, 5 minutes on the rowing machine, 5 minutes on the bike, 5 minutes on the cross-trainer, and 5 minutes on the treadmill) and let me tell you I haven’t sweat that much doing cardio outside of my kickboxing class. Mixing it up keeps it interesting and gets your body moving in all kinds of ways.

I’m going to have to work something out with my professor because the class cuts into one of my tutoring sessions, and because my student can’t afford the wheelchair access on Monday/Wednesday to drop her off then, I’ll see if I can come to class early and do my cardio at 8 AM – 9 AM followed by weight training. It’ll be better because when everyone is just starting their cardio, I’ll have the weight machines to myself instead of having to wait for a machine to free up and mess with my flow.

Kickboxing was slightly less brutal today. My kickboxing professor was hospitalized last week for dehydration and exhaustion, so we didn’t have class on Thursday. We kept reminding her to drink water, because she says she always forgets to drink enough water, and she’s teaching 8 sessions of classes every week so she is burning a TON of energy.

After we finished our floor session, she called us all to stand near the stereo and listen closely. “Listen up, guys,” she said. We leaned in. “I want you all…to run 5 laps upstairs!” She took off running. I took off after her, along with 4 other people who were getting with the program. “The sooner you run, the sooner you can cool down!” she called over her shoulder. We ran up the stairs to the track that circles on the second floor above the gym.

That 5th lap was really difficult. I never realized what a spiritual experience running is until I started running. Trying to get those last few paces in, every breath you’re begging Allah, “Please, just one more step, one more step…” When it would become excruciating I’d start saying almost involuntarily, “Allah…hu akbar. Allah…hu akbar…” ‘Allah’ on the inhale, and ‘hu akbar’ on the expulsion of breath.

There really is nothing quite like it.

When I got home, I did some 8 Minute Abs and later hung out with the family. We stumbled upon the premiere of New Muslim Cool channel surfing (I had totally forgotten it was today) and watched that, all the while providing sage commentary πŸ˜› I’m going to have to re-watch it again to fully appreciate it, because I did miss about 10 minutes of it.

The last scene, when Hamza’s son asked if the comic book character lost his ‘noor’, his light, my heart melted. I can only pray that Allah gives me the guidance to raise kids like that. Ameen.

3 thoughts on “Day Fourteen

  1. May you be able to raise kids better than that ameen and me too inshaAllah well atleast when we have them inshaAllah khayr πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

