Day Fifteen

I’ve reached the half month mark! Woohoo.

I ran a mile today! I did half a mile at school, and half a mile in my neighborhood. I walked/ran about 6 miles total today. Go me!

I was afraid the gap left by my now-finished tennis class would hurt me, but I’ve been filling up the open time now with walking and jogging because my body is getting used to working out a certain number of hours every day! How’s that for muscle memory?

Today I worked out for 30 minutes on the treadmill at about a 3.9 mph pace, with a 3 (ft? degree?) incline. I increased the pace to 5.2 and jogged for about 2 minutes, just for a change. Then I went upstairs and walked/jogged another 30 minutes around the track. I walked a few laps, ran about 2 laps, walked some more, and then I ran 5 laps around the track consecutively. Then I walked some more. I lost track of how many loops but I know it was more than 16, which is equivalent to one mile. That, total, was about 1 hour.

Then I came back downstairs just in time to do 8 Minute Abs with one of the classes.

There was open gym today for basketball, so I signed up and shot free throws and practiced making baskets for about 35 minutes. That was really fun. I was surprised at how quickly the time went by. My right arm was getting really tired so I practiced with my left. It felt so weird, like my arm was made out of jelly.

When I got home I bummed around for a bit with the family, had some lunch, then finally cleaned my poor, neglected room.

When I finished it was about 7 PM, so I threw on my workout clothes and went out for a walk. I took a loop through the neighborhood, and ran the last half mile back to the house. When I came inside and took off my hijab, the ends of my hair and scalp were as wet from sweat as if I had just taken a shower. I did another set of 8 Minute Abs to cool down.

When I was in middle school, I had this routine. I would do 25 girly push-ups, and then do front and side kicks in front of the mirror. Out of curiosity, I tried to do just that a little while ago. It was so freakin’ hard! My arms were shaking from the exertion, and my legs were definitely feeling the burn. I remember I could do 25 like it was nothing.

This is what I’m going to try to apply to my routine:

No matter what I do during the day, before my head hits the pillow at night, my body should have experienced:

1 hour of cardio (walking/running/jogging)

1 set of 8 Minute Abs (minimum)

25 push-ups

My Running Muslimah t-shirt came in the mail yesterday! I wore it today with a matching hijab. See below:

As I was walking back to my car, one of the staff members coming in from the parking lot said, “I love your outfit!” I was filled with warm fuzzies.

One week until ISNA! I can’t wait. Take care, y’all!

Leave a Reply

