Day Sixteen

My muscles is tore up. I feel like someone threw me out of a moving vehicle.

Arrived at school at 9 AM for weight training class. Did about 15 minutes of intense cardio and then completed an entire circuit of weight training in about 45 minutes. Then I did about 5 minutes of cardio on the stairclimber, and cooled down with 8 Minute Abs and 8 Minute Stretching.

After that I had two students back-to-back. I hastily ate an apple between sessions, and by the time I got to kickboxing class I was dragging. I should have packed and ate some more food, because I was so fatigued during the kickboxing.

After the class I hung around campus for a bit because one of my students had left a note at the front desk requesting we work out for an extra session. I had called her twice to confirm that yes, I could meet her, but my calls went straight to voicemail and she never called back. I checked the fitness center and the tutoring center, but she was nowhere to be found. Oh well.

I cut off all my hair last night. Okay, not all, but a LOT. It was really starting to irritate me because the ends would get soaked in sweat and turn crispy and brittle. The longer hair is so hard to manage, and I was always afraid it would escape from under my hijab and show during my workouts. Now it’s chin-length.

My mom and grandma were really surpised when they saw my hair. They were both watching Oprah when I came home. My mom likes it.  She thought I got it professionally done, much to my disbelief. Grandma hates it, of course. She says my hair looks like Oprah’s.

It’s a really odd feeling, not having the weight of my hair anymore. The great thing is now it takes me like 2 minutes to wash it!

Insha Allah I’m going to go for my walk in about an hour, then do my abs and pushups, take a shower, tidy up, work on some coursework…hmm. I just heard some thunder rumbling ominously. Might not be able to take that walk…

2 thoughts on “Day Sixteen

Leave a Reply

