Today…

…many wonderful things happened, one after the other.

  • I’m officially a university student! I registered for orientation, was FINALLY able to log into my email account, and best of all updated my Facebook education info status. šŸ˜›
  • Donated about 7 bags worth of old clothes (7…I can’t believe I’ve had 7 bags worth of clothes I don’t wear for the last 2 years hanging in my closet!) to the rescue mission downtown. It was the same place I went to for the Great Purge of ’07. It’s like the Olympics.
  • Went to the Garden Cafe on my way back from downtown, the most amazing little Chinese vegetarian restaurant I’ve been wanting to try. I had the roast vegetarian fish with vegetables and it was so good! All the “meat” is made from soy protein and it looks and tastes just like the real thing! The prices are really good, the restaurant is spotless and the staff is really nice. It’s off of Colonial between Westmoreland and Parramore. Check it out if you’re ever in the area.
  • When I came home I checked the mail, because my mom had left me a message saying there was a letter from university in the mail. Sure enough, it was an acceptance letter. Even though I knew I got in–since I was able to register for orientation and what not–I was still excited to receive it.

Alhamdulillah, (praise be to God) things are looking up. I was so worried about everything and my fears were over nothing! I always turn molehills into mountains, but truthfully there is nothing to fear. No one is holding me back except for me.

My plan for the next few weeks…and years, okay make that the rest of my life:

  1. Finish sorting out all the bric-a-brac I don’t need. Insha Allah (God willing) once we move into the new house there will not be a single unwanted item in my possession, not a one, not even a pin.
  2. Find out what I can do to prepare before orientation, check on financial aid status, maybe see if I can get an ID so I can work out in the awesome awesome fitness center.
  3. Stop drinking anything containing caffeine.
  4. Complete all prayers ON TIME.
  5. Run after Fajr (morning prayer) four times a week. Crosstrain three times a week.
  6. Listen to Quran, nasheeds and lectures/talks in the car and while cleaning instead of music.
  7. Read one Surah (chapter of the Quran) everyday, ponder the meaning, and think about how I can apply it in my life.
  8. Read about the Seerah (life of Prophet Muhammad) and the lives of the Companions of Rasulullah (SAW) [Prophet Muhammad, upon him be peace] and reflect upon the struggles they had to go through and how I can apply the lessons learned to my life.
  9. Continue to find positive outlets for stress that don’t involve unnecessary eating!
  10. Lock away my laptop unless I truly need it.
  11. Start learning a new skill or improving older ones in lieu of all the time I would spend online such as learning Arabic, Urdu, ASL, CSS/HTML, Photoshop, etc.
  12. Cultivate hobbies like reading all the great classics (I just started Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead, and I’m engrossed so far)
  13. Continue to be awesome.

Over this semester, I shed 10 pounds! At first it seemed like such a small victory after so much work but when I think about it, it took me about 2 years to gain 20+ unwanted pounds, and to lose 10 in such a relatively short time of a few months is a great acheivement! Go, me!

Before I go, I would like to share this awesome nasheed that one of my friends introduced me to. She played it for me first and asked me to guess the tune. I listened to the first few seconds and blurted, “OMG, Lord of the Rings!” She almost fell over laughing and then told me to keep listening.

I can’t stop listening to it now. It makes me want to cry and laugh and learn Arabic fluently at the same time and it is truly a many splendored thing. Take a listen.

Whoever posts the name of the song from which the tune is borrowed gets virtual blog cookies. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

