Whoa!

Yesterday I ran 1.6 miles, and today I ran 2.3 miles despite being weighed down by rain-soaked sneakers and socks! It’s all that extra oxygen in the air after it rains, makes it easier to run!

Running is truly a spiritual experience. The last few paces when my legs feel ready to give up on me is when I feel closest to God. With each breath I’m begging Allah to please, let me get to the next tree/sign/road/car, please, I’ll do anything, I’ll be a better person, I know what matters now, please-please-please-forgive-me-let-me-get-to-the-end-of-the-street-please-please-I-know-I’ve-been-ungrateful-please-please-please-one-more-step-one-more-step.

I can’t fully describe it.

At moments it feels like my mind seperates from my body and I’m just observing myself distantly, the strain becomes muted and I get into this headspace where I can feel the potential my body has. I got up to 2.3 miles but I could feel the potential in me for 3 miles, 4 miles, 5 miles, and beyond.

I saw a rainbow as I was setting out. A true, honest-to-Allah rainbow. It stretched from one end of the horizon to the other, inscribing a complete arc in the sky. It was darker on one side where the clouds were heaviest and slightly fainter on the other side. So beautiful, subhanAllah (glory be to God). As I watched I could see the echo of another arc, higher and fainter.

When I finished my run and was almost back at the house I just stopped dead in my tracks when I saw the sunset. Gorgeous pinks and purples and oranges and the sun was glacing off the water droplets still clinging to the trees, the grass, the asphalt, making everything sparkle. SubhanAllah. What a coincidence, just the other day someone suggested watching the sunset to become inspired. 🙂 It’s definitely working.

I really thought I wouldn’t be able to run today. It started raining buckets around 6, and it was coming down so hard the power was flickering. I was sitting on the couch in the living room with my mom and screamed when a bolt of lightening struck nearby. It sounded like it landed right behind me, that’s how loud it was.

Then as abruptly as it started, it stopped! The sun came out and set everything ‘asparkling and I laced up my soon-to-be-soaked sneakers and hit the very wet pavement. I started out trying to avoid the puddles but then I just gave up and ran through them. As I ran I could hear the water thundering in the sewer drains.

Earlier today I stopped by the financial aid office to straighten some things out. I saw my old boss there, by coincidence. It still strikes me as funny (funny-odd, that is) that academically we’re both equals (both going to be juniors) but he was my boss at work at one point in time.

After I finished taking care of that, I thought about seeking out my kickboxing instructor’s advisor bf but I was punch-drunk from the heat and didn’t want to make the effort to find him. I’ll call and find out where the office is and arrange something for next week, insha Allah.

Well that’s all today. A dragonfly landed on my arm while I was stretching right before my run. My immediate reaction was “Oiiiy!” (I literally made that sound) and shaking my arm frantically until it flew away but I took it as a good omen. Dragonflies are pretty gangsta.

Leave a Reply

