Apologies! Many, many apologies.

Salaams everyone, sorry I disappeared on you all for an unprecedented amount of time. We finally hooked up the internet in the new house, so I’m back, bebuhs.

My workout schedule has gone to ground since three things happened simultaneously: 1) I started school at a very large, very new campus, 2)we moved into the new house the day before Ramadan and 3)Ramadan Kareem!

The interesting thing is, because I’m walking so much from class to class everyday, and still wrapping my mind around where I have to be on campus and going to lectures and printing notes and syllabi and ordering books, and then walking some more, and coming home exhausted, and falling into bed to sleep hard and dreamlessly, and waking up before dawn to repeat it all over again…it’s pretty exhilarating.

I still feel like I’m getting a workout without actually AIMING to “work out.” It’s such a great feeling. Insha Allah after Ramadan and after things settle down I will start going to the fitness center (the beautiful, beautiful, two-story fitness center complete with rock climbing wall and indoor track and smoothie cafe and all the cardio and weight machines a girl could ever want…*wipes drool off keyboard) but for right now, I’m feeling puh-retty good.

I’m enrolled in some very large classes, and I was surprised (although I probably shouldn’t have been) when people started getting up to leave before the class was even over. I was sitting in the front and I could hear the *sqee! sqee!* of the collapsible tables being put away and the chairs swinging back up as people started exiting the lecture hall. It was so loud and so disruptive, one of my professors actually just stopped class and said, “Alright, well, I can’t talk over all these people so I’ll just leave the last slide up for you all to copy,” and ended class. This has happened in three of my classes and it blows my mind. I keep thinking, What are you people here for, then? This has happened to me every time I’ve entered a higher-level school tier. When I entered high school, I had these grand visions of no more worksheets and only lectures and presentations and narrow-lined paper full of my handwritten notes. I was convinced that teachers didn’t give baby worksheets in high school. I was very disappointed when I started 9th grade. Not just about the worksheets, about everything. Then I started community college, and although that was better, it was still another letdown. Now I’m starting my bachelors and I can feel that taste of disappointment in the back of my throat again. Oh well. I should stop being surprised.

As I was sitting, copying the last slide my professor had left up on the overhead, a girl from the following class came in and sat next to me. “Are you the TA?” she asked me.

She thinks I’m a TA! Flattered, I responded, “No, I’m just a student from the previous class.”

“Oh. What class was that?”

“Macroeconomics.”

“Economics? Wow. That must be really hard.”

“Well, no, not really, it’s actually pretty interesting, I mean, we use it everyday without realizing it…” I trailed off because I could see from her face that I had vaguely offended her. Oh, I thought. The correct answer was, “OMG, I know, it sucks! I can’t wait for this class to be overrr!

I made some more half-hearted prattle with her and then left. Maybe one day I’ll find my place where the students fight to fill the front row and there is pin drop silence when the professor speaks because everyone is leaning forward in their seats, absorbing knowledge like a sponge, and no one dares even to stick a foot into the aisle until the professor says, “Dismissed.” Do places like that exist?

4 thoughts on “Apologies! Many, many apologies.

  1. AH. i know what you mean. i hate dreary faces in interesting classes. like, uh, does no one care?

    anyway im really envious yall have a 2 story gym AND A FREAKING INDOOR TRACK. WHY WHY WHY. I WANT AN INDOOR TRACK GAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH that is like the MOST AMAZING thing in the universe. NO HOT blazing sun over your head.

    ok unbelievable. im trying not to hate your school, really i am.

    sall

    • Well, the library is somewhat decrepit and people have to sit outside the computer lab in long lines to print assignments and things…but yes, we do have a rockin’ fitness center and $60 million stadium. Also, there are bars. On campus. You see where our priorities lie. 😛

Leave a Reply

