How Do I Stay Motivated?

I wanted to share a few techniques I use to stay motivated to work out:

  • Know that no matter what you do, no matter how much you ate last night…putting one foot in front of the other is better than nothing at all.
  • There’s never time. For anything. Everyone is tired, everyone is stressed. Making excuses will not get you fit. Just put your shoes on and get out the door. Once you hit the pavement, track, or treadmill, all those excuses will fade away insha Allah.
  • Read articles and statistics on the obesity epidemic. And then get out the door as fast as you can.
  • Being fit is Sunnah! Read the narration of Um Mu’bad on the physical characteristics of our beloved Prophet, peace be upon him, recorded by At-Tabarani: “I saw a very handsome, very good looking man, and his face was glowing and a good proportion. He didn’t have any defects of the stomach
  • Read the hadith! “No human ever filled a vessel worse than the stomach. Sufficient for any son of Adam are some morsels to keep his back straight. But if it must be, then one third for his food, one third for his drink and one third for his breath.” Ahmad, At-Tirmidhi, An-Nasaa’I, Ibn Majah – Hadith sahih
  • “The best generation is my generation, followed by the one after them then the one after them. Then will come a people who bear witness but are not asked to bear witness, who swear oaths but do not fulfill them and fatness will appear among them.” Bukhari and Muslim
  • Sit down and make a list. Don’t say, “I want.” Write, “I am.”I am fit and have the energy to wake up in the morning to worship God.” “I am fit and I’m a good role model for my kids.” “I am fit and I expect the same from my future spouse/current spouse.” “I am fit and I can wear whatever I want.” “I am fit and I look forward to walking into the fitting room.”
  • Wear nice clothes when you workout. You don’t need to look like a scrub. It helps to have your workout clothes laid out the day or night before so it eliminates the excuse of not having anything to wear to workout in.
  • Keep your workout clothes and shoes in your car.
  • Wear outfits that can double as work or schoolwear. After work, switch out your shoes or shirt/hijab and you’re good to go, instead of having to change into an entirely different outfit. Just make sure you workout AFTER, not before!
  • No matter how your day is going, when you workout, you can feel proud of one good thing you did that day! And nothing can take that away.

-RM

One thought on “How Do I Stay Motivated?

  1. This is motivating! You got to keep me motivated when I roll into your town inshAllah.

    Yeah….I should be at Yoga Class right now, hhmmm, but I stayed home and will probably end up watching Biggest Loser (irony).

    Staying motivated is always key, fitness is about lifestyle not a one day event.

    Thanks Mami 😉

Leave a Reply

