The World Goes Away Down Here.

We had a swimming pool in our old house. I used to swim down to the very bottom of the deepest end and just stay there for as long as I could, feeling the pressure of the water and the hum in my ears. It felt like the world went away with only a mere 6 feet of water, a thin membrane between myself and reality. It felt like so much more.

I’d hover down there with my eyes closed, feeling the water moving across my hands and feet and body, my fingertips brushing the floor. It was comforting.

Maybe that’s what being in the womb was like.

Leave a Reply

