Despondent.

This semester has killed my soul and deadened my heart. From outward dunya standards I’m doing great, but inside I am just silently screaming. Ya Allah, let it be over soon. I know there is more to life than this rat race. I don’t want to be a zombie that comes back to life when the “week is done.” I want to be the creative person I was before I got bogged down in what everyone else wants from me.

Today my film professor asked me if I was okay and I burst into tears. She held my hand for a second and told me to talk to her after class. I forgot. I really did mean to talk to her.

Leave a Reply

