To Home.

I’ve been in the snowy, frigid land of Wisconsin for the last two weeks. It is amazing how we can adapt our surroundings to adjust to any environment. I’ve been having a good time visiting but I just can’t see myself living here. I can’t quite remember what a warm sun feels like. New Year’s Day was 49 degrees F, and my aunt remarked that we were having a heat wave! The temperature is a lovely 10.9 degrees F right now.

So now, a breakdown of my goals list and what I did and did not cross off my list:

  • No promises I can’t keep
  • Interact with people less and soul more (not sure about this one)
  • Scuba diving/snorkeling (did I mention I ordered a Burqini?) (it’s beautiful, I can’t wait to use it!)
  • Fajr at the beach
  • Swimming at the beach (too cold!)
  • Canoeing
  • Long walks in the morning
  • Re-establishing my relationship with the Quran (always an ongoing process for us all)
  • read real books, made of paper and glue
  • lose the pesky weight I’ve gained over the semester from my coffee-gulping, emotional eating ways.
  • Possibly go vegan again.
  • Be happy.
  • Learn Urdu (fluently) (maybe not fluently, but after being forced to speak mainly Urdu in Wisconsin, it has definitely improved!)
  • Go ice skating
  • Get a bike
  • Fly a kite
  • Climb a tree
  • Read the Orlando Sentinel and Washington Post everyday (ok I read it more than usual, not everyday)
  • learn how to play the guitar (no longer on goals list, found it contradictory!)
  • Wow, I think I did better than expected! I’m most happy about re-establishing a relationship with the Quran and losing all the stress weight. I think the former had a big influence on the latter. ‘Cause how you gonna win when you ain’t right within?

    2 thoughts on “To Home.

    1. Interesting you left the guitar lessons, what about striking a balance, i.e. priotirising your duties to allah first and then the dunya, its good exercise for the brain, learning music is not easy, as long as you are not playing lewd things I think its okay.

      p.s. Totally digging your blog! Awesome.

    2. A strong woman works out everyday to keep her body in shape ?? but a woman with strong Iman prostrates everyday in prayer to keep her soul in shape.

      Read this and thought of you, I came on your blog a year ago I think, I was very much in the fitness mode. I can understand your concerns with regards to the music, I have them with regards to getting healthy, and fit. People spend countless hours in the gym on bodies that one day will wither and die, then surely is that not a waste of time? Just interested to know your thoughts.

      ….

    Leave a Reply

    