The Daily Bulge — how the newsroom will make me fat

Yesterday, I did not mean to eat a mini guava pastry, cupcake and a cup of weird-tasting soda, but I did, because it was there and I was there.

I was at Channel 9 logging football scores. As the night grew longer and the scores began to trickle and then pour in, I could feel my shoulders growing tighter and tighter and my breaths becoming shorter and shorter.

Don’t get me wrong, it was exhilarating. I felt like Mr. Universe:

After the last score was in, I finally took a deep breath. I laid myself down on the ground (no one blinked an eye) and felt my back and shoulders crack in three places.

The web manager asked me something and I shot up like a cartoon character. I did feel a little silly lying on the floor.

After I got home and in bed, I let my torso hang over the side of my bed to let gravity do its thing. I did a few sit-ups. I may have even cried a little.

I wanted a bowl of ice cream, but went to sleep instead.

This morning when I got out of the shower I looked in the mirror and thought, Damn, I look good. I can’t lose this.

Of course, on closer inspection I thought I can lose this and this and this, but you know what I mean.

That’s just one day. What if I had a shift like that every day? What if I wanted a bowl of ice cream every day?

What happens when I leave college? I need a plan.

I used to think it was difficult to keep the weight off in college, but UCF is probably the only reason I still fit into most of the same clothes. God bless it for being as sprawling as the city in which it resides.

I can’t afford to tell myself I’ll get healthy when I graduate. This is probably the healthiest I’ll ever be in my life unless I take steps to ensure it remains that way (or gets better) for the duration of my career.

Here is the beginning of a plan:

  • bring my own food
  • resist food that I did not myself bring to work
  • resist pressure, real or imagined, to eat work goodies
  • bring a ton of water and chug away
  • arrive early and walk around Lake Eola before my shift

God willing, it works. I like being slender, but I will jeopardize it because I like journalism more.

Here’s to having both.

2 thoughts on “The Daily Bulge — how the newsroom will make me fat

  1. Salaam Aleikum, Beautiful Sarah! I’ve thought of you often and am glad you are doing well. Congratulations on accomplishing so many positive things!

    A trick I that works for me when I might be tempted to indulge… when I felt tempted (by a guava cake or ice cream), I drink a glass of water. If I’m still “hungry” I’ll drink another glass. If I’m still
    hungry, I eat something. An apparently that I find uber

Leave a Reply

