“You look lovely.”

Went to a church with my editor and her husband for a Shrove Tuesday pancake dinner. As we piled into the car, fat, fluffy flakes of snow clung to the windshield and melted in the fur lining of my jacket hoodie. I caught snippets of President Obama’s State of the Union address as we drove down the icy, slushy roads toward downtown. 

While we were tucking away at pancakes and steaming bowls of slow-cooked applesauce I felt a timid tap on my shoulder. 

I turned to look and found a little girl standing next to my chair. 

She smiled shyly.

“You look lovely,” she said. 

Leave a Reply

