Do me a favor and be ever odd.

image

My first introduction to archery occurred in high school. I was around the age of 14. I had never shot a bow and arrow. I remember after a few days I hit the balloon off the bull’s eye in the center. I was so proud of myself I carried around the scraps of that balloon in my pocket for the entire school day. 

Fast forward 10 years later. I’m in Alaska. I never thought in my life that I would be in Alaska. Holy crap, I’m in Alaska!

So when a new friend of mine, Corinne Cogger, asked me if I was interested in doing archery with her at AVTEC, I jumped at the chance. 

Well, it was more a straggling hop. There was a Shrove Tuesday pancake dinner that I couldn’t resist. Then there was meeting I had to cover. And finally, that all changed last Wednesday. 

The hour before Corinne was due to pick me up, I started to feel anxiety. I made a turkey sandwich. Put mustard on it. Sat and chewed as I chewed on my thoughts. God, what if I sucked and was laughed out of there? What if it was all a bunch of pros and I would be the only newbie?

What if someone thought I was part of some sleeper cell practicing for a takeover and called the Department of Homeland Security?

Okay, that last one didn’t really cross my mind. Well, maybe for like a second. 

I threw all my doubts to the wind when I heard the crunch of Corinne’s tires outside. 

After a botched ice cream run for her friend Laura who was leaving for Colorado the next day, we finally arrived.

It was a little intimidating. There were guys with some really impressive looking compound bows, as I later learned they were called. 

But then there were people like me, who were fairly new. 

Handling the bow was a little awkward, and I ended up shooting more of the tarp and the floor than I liked, but the feeling I got when I sunk the target—or was at least in the neighborhood—was a pretty cool feeling. 

I felt like a modern day warrior princess. A warrior princess who needs a lot of training, as my second-to-dead-last score indicated.

I still had a hell of a lot of fun. 

The Seward Archery League (16 years and older) meets on Tuesday nights from 6-9 p.m. at the Railroad Terminal from Jan. 8 through March 12. Drop in fee: $8 or $50 for the full 10 week session.   

Leave a Reply

